greetings, and a question

A forum for new users, and for old users to greet the new ones
spartlan

greetings, and a question

Post by spartlan »

Hello,

I'm not brand new to the site but I'm still pretty new. I would like to offer to volunteer to help with the site. What is needed? I'm happy to do anything. I am a former Adobe software engineer (graphics group) so I'm technical but not familiar with wiki sites. I'm sure I can figure it out.

My choir is currently rehearsing Mozart's Litaniae Laurentanae KV 195 and I looked for a Sibelius file here (for practice) but there isn't one available. I would be happy to add one if this would be helpful. If I were to add one, which edition of the CPDL scores available is best to use as the source?

Thanks.
CHGiffen
Site Admin

Re: greetings, and a question

Post by CHGiffen »

Hi Susan,

The only edition of the Litaniae by Mozart is one by Michael Gibson (with keyboard reduction of the orchestral score). It's a good edition, though. If you want the full orchestral score, then you'll find it scanned at IMSLP.

There are plenty of things you could do for us at the ChoralWiki, and learning the ropes is not difficult. We are ALWAYS looking for volunteer help here! Newly posted scores often need the text added or links provided to the corresponding text page (if there are multiple scores with the same text). Also, pages for newly posted scores need to be checked for any obvious mistakes from the submission process. As you become familiar with things, you'll notice more and more that you can do to help. When in doubt or you have questions, don't be afraid to contact any of the Admins.

Thanks for your generous offer of help. And I like your Ave verum corpus and Magnificat settings!
Charles H. Giffen
CPDL Board of Directors Chair
Admin at & Manager of ChoralWiki
spartlan

Post by spartlan »

Thanks Chuck. I guess I'll jump in and start browsing through new submissions, as I have time, to complete the admin tasks you listed.