"The Bartered Bride" and other opera doubts

Discussions relating to performance, interpretation, score preparation, musica ficta etc.
Sayuki_Togashi

"The Bartered Bride" and other opera doubts

Post by Sayuki_Togashi »

Hi everyone.

I'm an amateur singer and the opera group I'm in will perform the Smetana's opera "the Bartered Bride".
I have some doubts about the characters' behaviour... How's Marenka's behaviour? I read the whole opera synopsis (in two different places) and she seems to be a strong and decided woman, but our solist is performing her in a kind suffering way, just like those "princesses" from fairy tales who cry and cry. lol So... I'd like to know if someone knows how Marenka is... What's the correct way of performing her.

Kecal and the other characters I kinda figure how they're like, but my doubt is about Marenka...

Other thing I'd like to know is how long does it take to perform an opera. I mean... Like professional singers including the whole singing studying process (solists and chorus) until the performing and acting lessons and the production of scenary and all. I'd like to have an idea as I'm worrying about making the group I sing in more serious and better in the opera and I have no idea how long it takes. The Director of the group wanted to make in July and we started studying it in January. Is half of a year enough to have a whole opera done or it's not?

Thanks for the ones who reply. :)
smokeywisk

Re: "The Bartered Bride" and other opera doubts

Post by smokeywisk »

Hi mate,
Our choral society has decided to do The Bartered Bride concert version, arranged by Julian Harris (Boosey & Hawkes). Is that what you're about to do too?
My problem is, I need the audio as well as the dots & have a separate posting on my dilemma!!
I sympathize with you if Marenka's character appears wrong; that would bug me too.