Mozart's Musings

A place for contemporary composers and others to discuss their works and issues of composing choral music in our time
MozartsMusings

Mozart's Musings

Post by MozartsMusings »

Hi! I'm MozartsMusings here in the forums, but out in the real world, I tend to
go by simply, Clay. Call me either one, your choice. No preferences here.

I'm a Music Composition student out in the Midwest, and I would love to share my music with you all! Two instruments that I tend to write a lot for are piano and voice, because I actively practice those two things, both in my classes and in my spare time. While a lot of the music I write is intended for concert hall performance (as I call it "formal" music), I do also write a lot of "informal" music. These are electronic piece meant to be listened to wherever you may choose to listen to them. Regardless, my favorite pieces go up on my website, and even more go up on my SoundCloud, so I'll link to both of those below.

To get this thing rolling though, I'd love to share with you all one of the highlights of my 2015 year. Back in October of 2014, I had written a choir piece called Touch the Sky, based off a poem one of my friends wrote. It's a simple six-line poem, and I was thrilled that he let me use it for the piece. Fast-forward to May of 2015, when I'm visiting my old high school, and my choir teacher and I got to talking about what I had been writing, and I showed him the piece. Long story short, he absolutely loved it, and he asked me if they could perform it in the fall. Obviously I said yes; who wouldn't want their work performed? In October of 2015, I finally got to hear the premiere of my piece Touch the Sky, and I couldn't have been a happier guy. Those kids absolutely nailed it, and I'm so grateful that they took the time to really dig into it the way they did.